Georgia Collection Laws

The following is a summary of the Georgia Collection Laws. The information here may not be 100% accurate and should not to be construed as legal advise.
We make no warranty, express or implied concerning any information contained on this Georgia Collection Laws page, and we assume no liability for its use.

Georgia Collection Laws Interest Rate
Legal: 7%
Judgment: 12%
Commercial Accounts: 18%

Georgia Collection Laws Statute Of Limitations (Years)
Open account: 4
Written Contract: 6
Domestic Judgment: 7
Foreign Judgment: 5

Georgia Collection Laws Bad Check Laws (NSF) (Civil Penalty)
After 10 day written demand double damages up to $500 and service charge of $20 or 5%, whichever is greater

Georgia Collection Laws General Garnishment Exemptions
See federal law. City, County & State employees may be garnished

Georgia Collection Laws Collection Agency Bond & Licensing Rules
Bond: No
License: No
Fee: No

Merchants Credit Bureau hopes that this information assists you in finding a
Georgia Collection Agency and researching Georgia collection laws.